A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. 

Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government. Immediately she feels that something strange is going on: people act oddly in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion.

Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja falls in love with her housemate, Nina, and prolongs her visit. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony, and a cover-up by its administration, she embarks on an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk.

“I recommend that you lay your hands on a copy.” —Ann Leckie

“An instant classic.” Jeff VanderMeer

Published by Vintage Books. Out June 27. Preorder here! 

 

In Swedish

Published by Mix Förlag, 2012

Available at SF-Bokhandeln